New Candy Wars review

5.0 out of 5 stars Charming…. and maybe a little evil 🙂, October 9, 2010
By Candy Beauchamp “CandyTX” (Austin, TX) – See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE) (TOP 1000 REVIEWER) (REAL NAME)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Candy Wars: The Tooth Fairies vs The Candy King (Paperback)

This was a fun book! My son’s name is James (a character in the book), BUT it’s my 7-year-old daughter who has been reading this with me. When reading this, I heard lots of little girl giggle. She really thought this was funny, and it is quite silly, there’s jelly monsters, snowball fights and of course, the chocolate archers (no really!).

It also has a bit of a cautionary slant to it as well. Maybe not caution but perhaps a lesson that you should treat your siblings well or that no matter what, you’ll always be brother/sister. I am interested to see if she gets to that once she gets to the end (I’ve read ahead of her). I’m sure she will though.

I will admit that I thought this book was going to be over her reading level at first, but while it was a challenge for her in some spots, overall she got it and, more importantly, she’s asked to read it.

For me, this was a very cute story. I enjoy a good kid’s story and this one was really a lot of fun! It does make me wonder though… what else does this author have up there in his head? This was a pretty unique story. It felt kind of like an evil version of the nutcracker (and their sugar plum fairies) crossed with a really ticked off gingerbread man. But let me be clear… it’s NOT scary.

This is a great great chapter book story for the 6-13 year old set. Heck, anyone really. I’m a 35-year-old woman and I loved it!

Leave a Reply

