Writing and Inspiration

Sometimes it is difficult to write.  There are other things going on in life, plenty of distractions.  I often find it hard to avoid distractions – suddenly you visit sites you haven’t visited in ages, or plan an elaborate meal, or go for a walk, or check the tv, or suddenly have a desire for a giant coffee.  But more and more I’m finding if I just force myself to sit still and just write something, anything – then suddenly progress is made and all of a sudden I’m back in that world.

 

More later – feel an urge for a giant cooked breakfast 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by carrierice on April 7, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    So true, I’m learning that so much of writing is just showing up.

    Reply

  2. That’s right. If I stop procrastinating and force myself to sit and type – often times that’s when I get my best stuff. I suppose the thing is that how often are we really motivated to write? I get up at 4am before going to school – not an inspirational hour. But as you said – it’s about showing up

    Reply

Leave a Reply

